Literary Geniuses and a Bunch of Nobodies Pontificate on Happiness

Back from gym…

 

No pleasure is comparable to the standing upon the vantage-ground of truth.

– Francis Bacon

Sound like you need to watch more television.

 

Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle,

and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases

by being shared.

– Buddha

Are you the guy that burned down the Burger King?

 

I can think of nothing less pleasurable than a life devoted to pleasure.

– John D. Rockefeller

I can think of about a million things less pleasurable. Try being poor.

How is it possible to have so much money and be so stupid?

 

Happiness is as a butterfly which, when pursued, is always beyond our grasp,

but which if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you.

– Nathaniel Hawthorne

Good thing they didn’t have drug testing in your day.

 

Happiness, it seems to me, consists of two things: first, in being

where you belong, and second — and best — in comfortably going through

everyday life, that is, having had a good night’s sleep and not being

hurt by new shoes.

– Theodor Fontane

So it comes down to new shoes? Are you a woman?  If you’re a guy no wonder no one

has ever hear of you.

 

Why not let people differ about their answers to the great mysteries of the Universe?

Let each seek one’s own way to the highest, to one’s own sense of supreme loyalty in life,

one’s ideal of life. Let each philosophy, each world-view bring forth its truth and beauty to a

larger perspective, that people may grow in vision, stature and dedication.

– Algernon Black

I couldn’t agree more, although to ensure my own happiness I had  to stop

reading after 1st sentence.

 

Happiness: We rarely feel it.
I would buy it, beg it, steal it,
Pay in coins of dripping blood
For this one transcendent good.

– Amy Lowell

The “coins of dripping blood” part sound pretty cool.

Kind of like “vampire happiness.”

I’m making a “fangs” motion with my two fingers right now.

 

The world has to learn that the actual pleasure derived from material

things is of rather low quality on the whole and less even in quantity than

it looks to those who have not tried it.

– Oliver Wendell Holmes

Whoever you are, possibly an ex-President, you are definitely over-thinking

this stuff Wendell.

 

Happiness is not in the mere possession of money; it lies in the joy of achievement,

in the thrill of creative effort.

– Franklin D. Roosevelt

Translation: Money makes you happy…and then some other words.

 

The most I can do for my friend is simply to be his friend. I have no wealth to

bestow on him. If he knows that I am happy in loving him, he will want no other reward.

Is not friendship divine in this?

– Henry David Thoreau

Both you and your friend need to watch more television.

 

Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.

– Mohandas K. Gandhi

I get the impression you are trying to say something here, but reading all

these words that depend upon the previous words is makes me have to watch

some television.

 

But friendship is precious, not only in the shade, but in the sunshine of life;

and thanks to a benevolent arrangement of things, the greater part of life is sunshine.

– Thomas Jefferson

You actually talk this way in front of your friend?!  No wonder you were assassinated

at Ford Theatre.

 

I also realized that there are gloves that do things that other gloves can’t possibly do,

like let you stick your hands in hydrochloric acid.

– Martha Stewart

Not really a “happiness” quote , but where can I get a pair of these gloves!!

 

To fill the hour — that is happiness.

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

You sound like my boss and his mindless hour filling meetings.

 

I don’t know why we are here, but I’m pretty sure that it is not in order

to enjoy ourselves.

– Ludwig Wittgenstein

Sounds like you were in the same meeting with Ralph, myself, and my boss.

 

Here we are the way politics ought to be in America; the politics of happiness,

the politics of purpose and the politics of joy.

– Hubert H. Humphrey

I think you forgot “The Politics of Dancing.”

 

Consider the following. We humans are social beings. We come into the world

as the result of others’ actions. We survive here in dependence on others. Whether we

like it or not, there is hardly a moment of our lives when we do not benefit from others’ activities.

For this reason it is hardly surprising that most of our happiness arises

in the context of our relationships with others.

– Tenzin Gyatso, 14th Dalai Lama

If happiness is based on quote word count you are the happiest!

 

Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power

to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead,

tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.

– Groucho Marx

I open my eyes and say: “Hey, I’m still alive. Then I pee. Until I take that good morning pee

it’s really hard to be happy.”

 

Even a happy life cannot be without a measure of darkness, and the word happy would

lose its meaning if it were not balanced by sadness. It is far better take things as they come

along with patience and equanimity.

– Carl Jung

Level with me. You got beat up a lot as a kid?

 

It is an illusion that youth is happy, an illusion of those who have lost it.

– W. Somerset Maugham

You’ve  definitely lost it Somerset. PS. Nice name for getting beat up as a kid.

 

Gratefulness is the key to a happy life that we hold in our hands, because if we

are not grateful, then no matter how much we have we will not be happy — because we will always

want to have something else or something more.

– David Steindl-Rast

I was grateful to be done reading this and happy.

Thus, your theory is correct.

 

If you observe a really happy man you will find him building a boat, writing a symphony,

educating his son, growing double dahlias in his garden. He will not be searching for happiness

as if it were a collar button that has rolled under the radiator.

– W. Beran Wolfe

Obviously, you have never lost a collar button!

When you have once seen the glow of happiness on the face of a beloved person, you know that a man can

have no vocation but to awaken that light on the faces surrounding him; and you are torn by the thought of

the unhappiness and night you cast, by the mere fact of living, in the hearts you encounter.

– Albert Camus

Likewise,  you have obviously never lost a collar button.

Summary:

Happiness boils down to money, sex, and television.

Television is easiest to get.

Thus, explaining the universal popularity of television.

 

Leave a Reply

