SNAFU and FUBAR

12-copy-copy-12-5

CLICK ON IMAGE TO ENLARGE

There was a time when words meant something.

My Dad taught me these 2 from being in the service during WWII.

SNAFU

Situation Normal All Fucked Up

FUBAR

Fucked Up Beyond All Recognition

Here’s an example of them used at work in a conversation with my boss.

Of course, I told him they mean “kitty” and “pony” in Latin.

Me to Boss: It might be appropriate to celebrate your birthday with a theme around Hello FUBAR or My Little SNAFU.

My Boss: I feel truly loved.

Today’s words are largely devoid of meaning and a lot more confusing.

Examples:

Me to boss: I would like to kill you.

What my boss hears: I like you.

Me to boss: You are an idiot.

My boss: I am a genius.

Me: A woodpecker lit your car on fire.

Boss: Thank you again. I am a genius.

Me: I wish you were dead.

Boss: When do I get my Hello FUBAR or My Little SNAFU present?

Leave a Reply

