Shadows and Dreams

shadows

CLICK ON IMAGE TO ENLARGE

 

When I was a young child I noticed my shadow

followed me everywhere.

 

I was convinced he was secretly after my soul.

 

I told my Mom.

She laughed and reassured me that was highly unlikely.

He probably just wanted to kill me.

 

In the middle of the night I woke up with a nightmare

where my shadow was trying to kill me.

I called out for my Mom and she came to help me.

Mom: What’s the matter honey?

 

Me: I had a bad dream.

Mom: There. There. I’m sure it’s nothing to worry about.

 

Mom: What’s a dream?

Me: You know good dreams. Bad dreams.

It’s kind of like a little movie playing in our head while you sleep.

 

Mom: Hmmm. Never heard of these “dreams.”

Don’t think normal people have them.

Might be something you want to keep to yourself,

so people don’t think you’re crazy.

I’m sure they’ll come up with a medicine or something

that can treat this someday.

 

If your shadow doesn’t kill you first.

3 responses to “Shadows and Dreams

Leave a Reply

