I Feel Your Pain

a20

CLICK ON IMAGE TO ENLARGE

Sometimes the right thing to do when responding to people who are talking needlessly is to use a former Presidential “catch phrase.”

Some guy at work was telling me about how much he hated

his boss or job or something.

 

My response: “I feel your pain.”

He smiled and seemed pleased with this response.

 

Then I think some woman at work was telling me about her diet

or something and how she had lost 10 lbs.

She seemed pretty happy.

 

My response: “I feel your pain.”

Her response didn’t seem as pleased.

Maybe it was mixed.

Anyway I was done talking with her.

 

Then I talked with oh let’s call him “Mr. Crazy.”

By this point in the morning after listening

to all these conversations and being about an hour after breakfast

my attention span was shot.

 

It was all I could do to acknowledge that his lips

seemed to be moving in shapes that were perhaps producing words.

 

He seemed mad about something.

My response: “I feel your pain.”

This really set him off.

 

Later I found out he had accused me of having an affair

with his wife and taking his parking space.

 

I’ve seen his wife.

He should stop worrying there.

She’s pretty much affair-proof.

 

But I could see why he was upset about that parking space.

It was a nice parking space.

Later on in the parking lot on the way home

he confronted me at my car.

 

What a hot head.

 

I reiterated that : “I felt his pain.”

I tried to make him feel better by telling him no one

in their right mind would have an affair with his wife.

 

Still, I felt bad about taking his parking space as I backed over him.

2 responses to “I Feel Your Pain

Leave a Reply

