Here Come the Mallards

4-copy-copy-3

CLICK ON IMAGE TO ENLARGE

I stopped.

They were right in front of me.

So close I could touch them.

So I let them pass.

 

First came the mother.

Then a half dozen baby ducklings.

 

Finally, the father with his mallard ring around his neck.

As he passed he let out a quack.

“This is good.” I thought.

 

Now I can continue with my patient’s open heart surgery.

 

Then someone started to play the National Anthem.

The mallards immediately reappeared and began to go through

their precision drum and drill routine with batons and rifles right

on my patient’s chest.

 

“This is fantastic.” I thought.

 

“I’m going to need more gauze.”

Leave a Reply

