Sidewalk in the Middle of the Universe

I live on a sidewalk

in the middle of the universe.

in an emotional igloo

when I get too close

to the sun my igloo melts

I rebuild my igloo on days

when the sun doesn’t shine

I take lots of walks on my sidewalk

I’m like a hamster in a wheel

only there’s no hamster

and there’s no wheel

there’s just infinite concrete

pavement that appears before

my feet as I walk

I’m looking for a wild rose

sometimes I feel like I’ve been

painted into a corner

only I never had any paint

sometimes I have hopes and dreams

but I put them aside

when I need to rebuild

my igloo

 

Leave a Reply

